British Infantry in the Peninsula

Posted: October 15, 2010 in Black Powder Era, Uncategorized

These are some 28mm plastic infantry from Perry Miniatures which I painted for a friend as part of a wargame army he is building. The army he is making is British from the campaigns in Spain and Portugal, and he wanted it to have a somewhat scruffy, hard-campaigning appearance, yet not entirely in rags. So, I tried to use some restraint in that. I changed the colors of some of the clothes and blanket rolls and added a few patches here and there.

These are the first Perry plastics I’ve seen, and I was really impressed with the sharpness of the detail on the figures as well as the wide variety you can get from the various arms, bodies, heads and backpacks. It’s really fun to work with! My friend wanted the figures based on metal stands, and I think that’s really the way to go if you’re going to do plastics, because the metal base gives each figure enough weight that it won’t blow over with a stiff breeze.

Comments
  1. Ernie says:

    Very nice work. I hope to get back to painting some of these models myself next month. Someone makes transfers for the riflemen but I can’t remeber whom anymore.

Leave a Reply

