Sea Peoples WIP – Part II

Posted: May 9, 2012 in Ancients, Uncategorized

This is a continuation of my Sea Peoples project which I posted earlier. I’ve made a bit more progress, and wanted to show where things are now.

At this point, almost all of the units (or rather, “battlegroups”, according to the FoG rules) are done except for the basing. I’ve attached them down to the bases, but still need to paint the ground and add some scenic details. This first group is the only finished unit, and they are javelin-armed light infantry, all from Wargames Foundry. Sorry the photo’s kinda blurry. I will be sure to take better shots after the army is finished. :

Next up are some of the warband, which make up the main force of this army. The Sea Peoples were made up of several different tribes, each with their own distinctive dress, and I presume these tribes probably fought in their own units. I have simplified that by dividing them into units based on their headwear, which I’m sure will make any historical purists reading this cringe (oh well). The most numerous are the Peleset tribe with horsehair crests on their helmets (The “hairy hats”), and the smaller group is made up of the Weshesh tribe, wearing helmets adorned with boars’ tusks (The “pointy hats”). I have no idea what colors they actually used for the crests, but I painted all my rank-and-file warriors with plain black crests while the leaders get to have a little color.  The majority of these are Foundry figures, but you can see some Old Glory figures in the back rank. Some of those have been converted somewhat, and I’ll go into that inmore detail in a later post:

Next up are the chariots. I originally had a bunch of Foundry Hittite chariots but no crew. The crew compartment on those suckers are very tiny, so I had to find some fairly thin figures so that they would fit. I chose Castaway Arts Philistines for the role because of their relative thinness and fairly static standing poses. Even so, I had to do a significant amount of cutting and filing to get them all to fit. I still need to add the reins:

And finally, here is the Sea Peoples’ camp. I decided an ox-cart was appropriate, because everyone who knows about about the Sea Peoples seems to associate them together.  This is mainly because Pharaoh Ramses II commemorated his victory over them by commissioning a wall relief showing his troops attacking a wagon train of oxcarts. The carts are full of people – panicked women and children, as well as warriors fighting the egyptians from inside the carts. From this depiction, some have concluded that the Sea Peoples commonly used oxcarts as a part of their army, as sort of mobile fighting platform. Frankly, that sounds ridiculous to me. I think instead, the wall relief depicts desperate settlers seeking any shelter from the enemy they can find, which happens to be the carts. Yet there are several manufacturers which make Sea Peoples oxcarts complete with a crew of warriors to ride inside. I bought the oxcart made by Newline Design (a very nice model, by the way), but I took the warriors out and stuck them in the line with the rest of the troops. Instead, I sculpted a cartload of supplies. The driver now walks next to it goading the oxen with a stick. The rest of the men are Old Glory and Redoubt Miniatures. I don’t know where I found the little pack animal, but he was drafted into this army:

I hope you enjoy them. I’ll post photos of the completed army soon, as well as some region-specific terrain features I’m making up for them. After that, I need to build an army of enemies for them to fight.

Comments
  1. Fred Askew says:

    Not a matching period but Kevin Dunn has 28mm Saxons and I have 25mm Saxons, Anglo-Danish and Normans. So at least you won’t have the only Big Boy army in Austin. 8->

    • cdingley says:

      Well, I knew there wouldn’t be too many guys playing this period, so I’m currently working on two other period opponents for them as well as terrain features. But I sure wouldn’t mind playing against some non-period opponents some time. They’re mostly “impact foot”, so they ought to at least have a fair shot against all those Dark Age infantry units you guys have!

Leave a Reply

