The Punic War at Sea

Posted: December 4, 2013 in Ancients, Uncategorized

These are some 1/600 scale galleys I painted a few years ago. All of them (I think) are from Xyston, and my goal was to create two fleets – One Roman and one Carthaginian. I apologize for the shots being somewhat blurry:

Rom-Triremes-001

Rom-Triremes-005

Carth-Triremes-002

I decided to leave off the sails and main masts, as these would have been removed before going into battle. I wanted the ships to look as they would during the middle of a fight. To differentiate the two sides, I went with different color schemes, although I’m not aware that the actual combatants really ever did this. The Roman ships include a lot of red, and the Carthaginians have white on their bows. To identify the individual ships, I made name tags. The Roman names came from a list of actual Roman ship names I found on the internet. The Carthaginian names are simply the names of gods and goddesses in their pantheon.

Rom-Triremes-006

Rom-Triremes-002

Carth-Triremes-002

As you can tell, there are several sizes of ships, ranging from the tiny Roman liburnae up to a huge heptereme. There are also a couple of merchant sailing vessels, which can represent any side.

Rom-Triremes-004

Carth-Triremes-003

Leave a Reply

